2022 NFL Awards Finalists: Who Are the Largest Favorites, Surprises and Outcasts? | Techno Glob

The NFL on Wednesday introduced the finalists for eight of the Related Press awards that can be introduced on the twelfth annual NFL honors ceremony on Feb. 9. Here is what it is advisable to know:

Full checklist of NFL award finalists:


  • Josh Allen, Payments QB
  • Joe Barrow, Bengals QB
  • Jalen Boley, Eagles QB
  • Justin Jefferson, Vikings WR
  • Patrick Mahomes, head QB


  • Nick Bosa, 49 DE
  • Chris Jones, Chiefs D.T
  • Micah Parsons, Cowboys LB


  • Tyreek Hill, Dolphins WR
  • Jalen Boley, Eagles QB
  • Justin Jefferson, Vikings WR
  • Patrick Mahomes, head QB



AP Comeback Participant of the Yr:


  • Brian Daboll, Giants
  • Sean McDermott, Payments
  • Doug Pederson, Jaguars
  • Kyle Shanahan, 49 years outdated
  • Nick Siriani, Eagles

AP Assistant COY:

  • Ben Johnson, Lions OC
  • DeMeco Ryans, 49ers DC
  • Shane Steichen, Eagles OC

Instantaneous evaluation of Athletic:

A well-deserved accolade for Jefferson

Let’s face it, it is a quarterback league and quarterbacks award, and Mahomes, Allen, Burrow and Hurts are actually MVP worthy, and a type of 4 will win the award (my cash’s on Mahomes). Nevertheless it’s additionally good to see a non-quarterback (Minnesota’s Jefferson) get some recognition for his dynamic season.

Jefferson is a receiver, however the third-year professional actually made QB Kirk Cousins ​​higher and racked up a league-leading 128 catches and 1,809 receiving yards. He in all probability will not win, however getting the nod is critical. – Jones

Robust name for OPOY

OK, in order that being mentioned, absolutely anticipate a quarterback (Mahomes) to win the MVP, although Burrow, Hurts and Allen are worthy. However what about Offensive Participant of the Yr? Will the dropping quarterback get this or will one other place participant take house these honors?

Since quarterbacks typically take house the MVP, let’s go together with somebody like Jefferson or Hill (who additionally remodeled his group’s offense with 1,700-plus yards) for Offensive Participant of the Yr. Jefferson outgained Hill for 99 yards and a landing. Give him the reward. – Jones

The final word darkish horse for ROY

Getting into the season, the quarterback projected to contend for Rookie of the Yr honors was Pittsburgh’s Kenny Pickett. However Purdy got here out of nowhere as a quarterback to problem Walker and Wilson for the award by profitable 5 straight video games and serving to the 49ers to the NFC West title. Sure, he solely has a part of the season to point out. However the significance of his contribution to his group’s success makes it a no brainer. – Jones

A crowded COY race

The argument may very well be made for any of the 5 finalists (Shanahan, Pederson, McDermott, Daboll or Siriani) to win Coach of the Yr. Lions followers and Dolphins followers can take concern with the grumbling of their head coaches Dan Campbell and Mike McDaniel. McDaniel made the playoffs and Campbell’s group fell quick. They did get rid of the Packers from postseason consideration, so that ought to rely for one thing. proper?

In the long run, all 4 different coaches obtained their group into the postseason, so that offers them an edge. Shanahan doing that to his third-string quarterback makes him a no brainer. – Jones

How had been the finalists chosen?

The AP introduced in November that it was updating its voting system for the awards. The 50 nationwide sportswriters on the poll ranked their prime 5 picks for MVP and prime three picks for different awards. They will even rank their picks for first- and second-team All-Professional gamers at every place.

Required studying

(Picture: Kerry Edmondson / USA At the moment)

Supply hyperlink